Stafford coat of arms
Stafford Family History - Title

Carsington Village

 

Carsington and Hopton are two old mining villages which lie between the market towns of Wirksworth and Ashbourne.

In the 7th century, one of the Northern saints, a monk named Betti, came down from Northumberland possibly from Lindisfarne, and set up a preaching cross, which now stands on the village green. It was previously in the Hall grounds and was brought up into the village several years ago.

In Doomsday it was called Chersentune and was part of the King's lands. Later when Sir Philip Gell organised the building of the Almshouses in Hopton, a stone tablet above the houses declares that the buildings were for ‘2 poor men and 2 poor women of Hopton and Carson’, the latter being the old name for Carsington. 

Just below Carsington Pastures lies the Church of St Margaret’s which is 12th century, The Miners Arms Public house in the village dates back to the 16th Century and the Temperence Gell school dates to the 18th century. All of which are still in use and functioning as church, public house and school.

In 1821 there were 53 houses, 55 families, and 270 persons in the parish, who are supported by agriculture and mining the population in 1881 was 231. The manor house owned by the Gell Family was Hopton Hall.

A flower festival takes place in second half of May every year (22-27 May 2004), when visitors can also enjoy tea and delicious cakes in the lovely garden of the adjacent cottage. 

 

 

 

© 2006-2011

Developed by Astaroth Solutions
Astaroth Images - portrait and wedding photographer